ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Horror Movie Reviews: Killer Klowns From Outer Space

Updated on March 17, 2014

Killer Klowns From Outer Space

Killer Klowns, a classic film, I love this movie and it is a favourite of mine, the very idea of killer clowns from outer space just seems quite ridiculous,and it is, but like other films that don't take themselves too seriously there is still some horror fun to be had with Killer Klowns From Outer Space.

I must have been about 9 years old when I watched this foray into childhood fears of clowns that was presented in this almost B-movie horror formula that was the formula of many 50's horror films and having watched it again quite recently after nearly twenty years I've gotta say it is cheesy and daft that I thought this was scary, but I guess when we are kids we might scare easily.

The story is obviously about Killer clowns from outer space (Think it's the title of the movie that gave it away!) and they arrive in a huge circus tent like space ship and start putting people into large candy flosses to store them for food, they have a few other tricks up their sleeve such as near the end they throw a load of acid custard pies at a security guard and he melts off camera.

Although you'd think that this would be a really gory movie, but it's not, a large part of the movie is just played for laughs as the clowns run amok and turn everyone into candy floss, at first there is even the classic cliche of people not believing a few of the main characters that there are killer clowns on the loose. someones head gets punched off with no blood what so ever.

Killer Klowns is a classic movie though and a favourite from my childhood, even though it is quite tame compared to other clown movies, I still found it fun to watch after all these years and it still had that 80's charm with the music.

Remember, shoot their noses and you kill them!

The DVD of Killer Klowns I bought on Amazon has no extras, except the original trailer for the movie in question, but it's the movie you should see if you haven't seen it, for a laugh at least in all it's cheesy glory!

Killer Klowns From Outer Space

Horror film reviews - Killer Klowns From Outer Space 1988.
Horror film reviews - Killer Klowns From Outer Space 1988.

Buy Killer Klowns From Outer Space On DVD From Amazon

Horror Film Reviews - Killer Klowns From Outer Space

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      4 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Yeah it's funny and was quite disturbing as a kid with people tucked in the cotton candy lol.

    • littlecat2013 profile image

      littlecat2013 

      4 years ago

      I really loved this movie. As an adult it is hilarious. It was on Netflix and that's how I discovered it. Old horror movies were so great.

    • surfer1969 profile image

      surfer1969 

      5 years ago

      A great review although I didn't get to see a video of It on here because It was blank.I wrote a movie review for the 2013 movies that are coming out soon.

    • philipandrews188 profile image

      philipandrews188 

      7 years ago

      Interesting, I never see that movie, But i want it.

    • Franklin Beaumont profile image

      Franklin Beaumont 

      8 years ago

      Wow, I completely forgot this film existed! Great review, thanks for reminding me of it.

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Cheers BKC! it's a little dated in the 80's but still is a classic, although not a really bloody horror, it's just a funny concept, may scare young kids though!

    • BkCreative profile image

      BkCreative 

      8 years ago from Brooklyn, New York City

      Well, this is just crazy enough to be a lot of fun! And the fact that Krazy and Klowns are written with 'K' makes it that much better or funnier or something.

      Thanks - I'll look for this.

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Yeah I recently watched this and it was a right laugh, as a kid I thought it was more horror focused, but no on second viewing it was just funny clown horror.....

    • profile image

      MrMidNight 

      8 years ago

      The only movie with clown chicks with helium filled breast, hahahahahahaha, i can't stop laughing, this movie was too funny.....

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      It was great with monster clown popcorn and funny looking evil clowns, this is a movie that should be remade and made better!

    • E M Smith profile image

      E M Smith 

      8 years ago from Kingston-Upon-Hull

      I bet it would still scare me despite my age :)

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Yeah...until they watch it Suzie! lol!

      Cheers now!

      It's still a cool film!!!!

    • suziecat7 profile image

      suziecat7 

      8 years ago from Asheville, NC

      See, someone else thinks it sounds like fun. Great review though. :)

    • KoffeeKlatch Gals profile image

      Susan Hazelton 

      8 years ago from Sunny Florida

      I've never seen the movie, it sounds like fun. Great review.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)