What food do you prepare in a slow cooker?

Jump to Last Post 1-13 of 13 discussions (24 posts)
  1. Janis Goad profile image74
    Janis Goadposted 11 years ago

What food do you prepare in a slow cooker?

2. Attikos profile image82
    Attikosposted 11 years ago

All sorts of things. Slow cookers are dedicated braising appliances, so you can do anything in them you'd do low and slow on the stove or in the oven. With the right technique and recipe, you can even bake bread in one.

The last dish I did in a slow cooker was last week, lamb shops in wine and stock with potatoes, bell pepper, onion, garlic and herbs. I still have some to eat up as leftovers.

Janis Goadposted 11 years agoin reply to this

Lamb chops sounds excellent!  I am new to my slow cooker and figuring out what works well.  I will try your suggestion.

3. GoodLady profile image92
    GoodLadyposted 11 years ago

I make broths in my slow cooker and a ragout for pasta and a stew too.  I cook cuts of meat slowly to make them tender and sweeter to taste.

I like the tenderness of every cut of meet I have cooked in the slow cooker.

4. Trish303 profile image72
    Trish303posted 11 years ago

I make all kinds of things but what i make the most is Marinara Sauce or roast.

5. Austinstar profile image84
    Austinstarposted 11 years ago

Pulled pork with barbecue sauce for pulled pork sandwiches.
    Italian roast beef with veggies.
    I usually just get a two or three pound piece of meat and coat it with seasoning, a small amount of water and let it cook all day. It's great!

6. cat on a soapbox profile image94
    cat on a soapboxposted 11 years ago

Hi Janis,
    Slow cookers are wonderful!  I use mine for pot roast, beef stew, chili, lentil and bean soups, and chicken. I  still always braise my beef before adding it.
    - cat

7. fitmom profile image74
    fitmomposted 11 years ago