jump to last post 1-11 of 11 discussions (18 posts)

Online Earnings and Taxes

1. emievil profile image79
    emievilposted 8 years ago

Hi All. Bear with me for this question (not even sure if I am in the right topic).

As an accountant I can't help but ask - do you declare your online earnings (whether from Hubpages or in freelancing sites) and pay the related taxes to your government? Why or why not?

1. Maddie Ruud profile image79
      Maddie Ruudposted 8 years ago in reply to this

Yes.  Because I exceed the minimum needed for reporting and am issued 1099-MISCs by AdSense, Amazon, and EBay every year.

2. expectus profile image88
    expectusposted 8 years ago

I guess it would be wise to declare it on your tax form, if you are earning a decent amount that it would affect which tax bracket you fall into.

and I'm not in the U.S but google adsense has some tax procedure you have to setup when you first make your account , I didn't really read it but that might be worth reading through

1. emievil profile image79
      emievilposted 8 years ago in reply to this

Hmmm, I didn't think I saw that tax procedure. I'd better check. Thanks.

3. Marisa Wright profile image93
    Marisa Wrightposted 8 years ago

It depends entirely on your country of origin.  A lot of websites ask for tax information because they're based in the US, and US residents have to declare even small amounts of income.  If you're not a US resident, you sometimes have to hunt around to find out what to do - usually there's some kind of declaration you have to make, saying you're not resident.

4. Uninvited Writer profile image81
    Uninvited Writerposted 8 years ago

We have to earn a significant amount to pay taxes on earnings in Canada. I think it's over $3,000 a year and I haven't come close to that smile

5. earnestshub profile image88
    earnestshubposted 8 years ago

In Australia you declare the income, but no tax till it is significant amount.

1. Marisa Wright profile image93