ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Sports and Recreation»
  • Team Sports

FIFA Football World Cup winners-Argentina

Updated on June 4, 2012

World Cup Winners

Argentina first won the World Cup in1978, where they delighted their ecstatic home supporters in Buenos Aires as captain Daniel Passerella held the World cup aloft, and the nation that loved to watch football knew they had the trophy they so desperately wanted.

Fittingly the blue and white went on to triumph in 1986 at the Azteca stadium in Mexico, with a skillful team, spearheaded by the then World's best player Diego Maradona, who against England in the quarter -finals scored the Goal of the Century.

World cup Winning finals record

1978     Argentina 2-1 Holland (aet.)    in  Argentina

1986     Argentina 3-2  W. Germany    in   Mexico


  • Federation.  Asociación del Fútbol Argentino
  • Argentina were formed in 1893
  • Joined FIFA. 1912
  • Confederation. CONMEBOL
  • Nicknames.  La Albiceleste      (White and Sky blue)
  • Argentina.  Is the oldest footballing country other than those of the British Isles

Star Player

Mario kempes known as El Matador was the star of the 1978 World Cup he was top scorer in the tournament with 6 goals, and took the Golden Boot.

He wasArgentina's first star player, and among all the colourful ticker-tape and political controversy, it was his brilliant goals that helped the White and Sky Blue to a romantic triumph and end the countries 48 years of hurt.

Kempes was the only foreign based player used by coach Cesar Luis Menotti.

Argentina -The Greatest World Cup Winners 11

Maradona and Kempes were great players but who else would make up Argentina's best .The greatest World Cup winning 11


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.