Is Adobe Photoshop better than Illustrator?

Jump to Last Post 1-31 of 31 discussions (44 posts)
  1. Azhar Kamar profile image66
    Azhar Kamarposted 14 years ago

Hi fellow Hubbers! I'm a graphic designer for an advertising company in Singapore and I've been using Photoshop (CS, CS3 Extended and CS4) for almost 2 years now for most of my work.

Now, I'm beginning to try Illustrator but I don't seem to like it and I think (based on my little experience) Photoshop has all the functions Illustrator has, and even more. So I thought I'll just go back to my friendly Photoshop CS3. But what I don't understand is why are some people using Illustrator?

1. profile image0
      ryankettposted 13 years agoin reply to this

Would you use a camera to draw a picture? Or perhaps another perspective, would you use a pencil to take a photo?

2. agvulpes profile image85
    agvulpesposted 14 years ago

Azhar as they have a saying in the racing industry 'horses for courses'.
    I am no expert but as the name would imply Illustrator is mainly for drawing images (vectors) whereas Photoshop as the name implies is mainly for working with images (pixels).
    There is some cross-over in each program , so it would depend on what your own use was for each program.
    Personally I love Photoshop. cool

3. MikeNV profile image67
    MikeNVposted 14 years ago

Two different purposes as noted.  So I'm missing the question here? Vector graphics and Bitmap graphics have much different uses.

1. darkside profile image62
      darksideposted 14 years agoin reply to this

That there is the difference.

Vector vs Raster.

Some amazing illustration work can be done in Illustrator (though I prefer some good old Macromedia Freehand version 8). And when resized, it doesn't lose quality.

But they have two different uses. They can overlap a little. But otherwise Illustrator isn't for editing photos.

1. FuzzyCookie profile image73
        FuzzyCookieposted 13 years agoin reply to this