working in retail

Jump to Last Post 1-11 of 11 discussions (12 posts)
  1. profile image53
    shopgirl17posted 14 years ago

Employers are asking for more and more. I'm currently a Store Manager that has to work a MINIMUM of 45 hours a week, but only get benefited for 40.

I have to run the Store, get a minimum of 90% on Secret Shops, dust the walls and fixtures, move the fixtures to vacuum under them. I forgot to mention changing the light bulbs. For that I should have been hired at Cirque de Soleil.

I also have to make outside sales calls.

For all of this, I have accrued 3.74 hours of sick pay and 2 vacation days in 9 months.

My employer treats people worse than you'd treat a donkey.

2. steffer profile image61
    stefferposted 14 years ago

look for another job
    sounds like you have expereince
    why do something that doesn't make you happy?

Why don't you write a hub about it?

1. profile image53
      shopgirl17posted 14 years agoin reply to this

I am looking for another job. There aren't any. Thanks for the welcome.

3. kirstenblog profile image78
    kirstenblogposted 14 years ago

Working for others is a B*^ch! My best advice is to spend as much free time writing and promoting your hubs and with time you will build up a good rep here and with google. It might just be enough to free you from the full time rat race, it could even open up new opportunities to write for others freelance. If you want to maximize the potential of each hub you write the best thing you can do is read as many hubs about how to make money with your writing here, there are so many good hubs and its all free info, not like those supposed net guru's.

Welcome and all the best!

4. LRobbins profile image46
    LRobbinsposted 14 years ago

I feel for you.  I used to work in retail and had a terrible employer as well (although I know there are some good ones out there).  Hang in there and good luck with the job hunt!

1. TINA V profile image70
      TINA Vposted 14 years ago