jump to last post 1-9 of 9 discussions (16 posts)

Question about "Sharing" finished hubs

  1. kenneth avery profile image81
    kenneth averyposted 16 months ago

    Dear Precious Followers,
    I have, what some of you might see as a stupid question, but I need to ask it anyway.
    When I am ready to hit the "publish now" button on a finished hub, and I hit the "White H on black background" button to the left, do I get a notice from HP stating "frequently sharing your hubs with followers is not recommended."
    I thought that I, along with those following me, might want to know what I am doing, but if this sounds the least bit egotistical, I will understand then cease from "sharing" hubs before they are read.
    Any input will be appreciated.
    Kenneth

    1. Sherry Hewins profile image94
      Sherry Hewinsposted 16 months ago in reply to this

      As others have pointed out, it is not necessary to share a newly published hub. It will show up on all of your follower's feeds anyway.

      You may want to share it on FaceBook or Pinterest if you use those platforms. Hubs are not automatically shared there.

      I have used the HP share button for my own hubs on a few rare occasions, such as when a holiday comes around I might share one of my older hubs that is appropriate. If the subject of one of my hubs is suddenly in the news, or I have made major revisions to one, I might do the same. After all, the warning does not say you can never share your own hubs.

  2. paradigmsearch profile image86
    paradigmsearchposted 16 months ago

    I do believe newly published hubs are already automatically put in the feed of all of one's followers.

  3. Anna Marie Bowman profile image87
    Anna Marie Bowmanposted 16 months ago

    I have never used that button,but did notice it the other day when I went to share a Hub on Pinterest.  I thought it odd that they gave us the option to share a Hub here, even though it would show up in the feed anyway.

  4. Jodah profile image86
    Jodahposted 16 months ago

    Kenneth, as I replied on the other forum where you asked the Question, the black H is mainly for sharing other people's hubs that you like, with your followers. You don't need to share your newly published hubs with your followers. It is done automatically.
    It appears on your followers' feed and they also get an email saying you published a new hub (if they have email notification selected). It is ok to share your old hubs, maybe once a week using the "H" button, but HP discourage sharing your own hubs too often. Hope this helps.

    1. Jodah profile image86
      Jodahposted 16 months ago in reply to this

      Just adding, you should however freely use the other buttons to share your hubs on Facebook, Pinterest, Twitter etc.

    2. kenneth avery profile image81
      kenneth averyposted 16 months ago in reply to this

      Jodah,
      Wow! What a fool I have made of myself, but through ignorance.
      Thank you, dear friend, for the great advice.
      God bless you.

      1. Jodah profile image86
        Jodahposted 16 months ago in reply to this

        Not to worry, Kenneth. I am often amazed that I didn't know something that has been around for ages. What are friends for? It's good to be able to help.

        1. kenneth avery profile image81
          kenneth averyposted 16 months ago in reply to this

          Jodah,
          I appreciate YOU and EVERYONE on my Followers' List more than you will ever fathom.

  5. Venkatachari M profile image84
    Venkatachari Mposted 16 months ago

    You may not ( or can not) share your own old hubs once in a week. You may probably share one hub each week (older hubs) and that also may not be decent here on HubPages. So, concentrate on other platforms like facebook, twitter, and Pinterest for sharing your articles.

  6. Marisa Wright profile image94
    Marisa Wrightposted 16 months ago

    When you write a new Hub, your followers are automatically notified in their feed and/or via email, depending on their preferences.  It might seem a little rude to send them a second notification yourself, rather like saying "I know you've been told about this Hub, but why haven't you read it yet?" 

    If you have an old Hub and you've made major changes to it, it's a good idea to share it with followers, because that isn't taken care of in the HubPages automatic system.

    1. kenneth avery profile image81
      kenneth averyposted 16 months ago in reply to this

      Hello, Marisa,
      Thanks for the information. I am going to follow it to the letter.
      I have a lot of old hubs that need some TLC and then I might share those with my new followers.
      Have a peaceful day.

  7. paradigmsearch profile image86
    paradigmsearchposted 16 months ago

    I decided to inflict a hub on my followers. It's been months since I have done so. Blame it on this thread. big_smile

    1. paradigmsearch profile image86
      paradigmsearchposted 16 months ago in reply to this

      Update.

      Hark! Someone actually read it. Frankly, I hadn't expected that. lol

  8. peachpurple profile image77
    peachpurpleposted 16 months ago

    I use the black H for other writers hubs.
    I don't share my own hub here.
    Instead, I share with Twritter, Fb, etc, those share media buttons provided on HP

  9. makingamark profile image68
    makingamarkposted 16 months ago

    I think there's a very strong case for saying don't share a hub on social media unless you know that EVERY member of your audience will be interested. (i.e. just because they know you doesn't make them interested!)

    That's because if you share with a wider group and people get irritated then they'll start hitting the "hide all posts from xyzhubber" and you might even end up being designated as a spammer by others.

    Such behaviour doesn't do yourself any favours at all.

    My solution is to set up blogs or Facebook Pages or Twitter accounts devoted to very precise niche topics. People need to follow them on a voluntary basis to get the info and they only ever get info which is also precise and dedicated to the topic of the Page. Seems to work....

 
working