Be ready, be prepared--stay informed.

Jump to Last Post 1-7 of 7 discussions (19 posts)
  1. profile image0
    Am I dead, yet?posted 14 years ago

Some of you may be aware that I am a student in Homeland Security.  I have been asked recently by many people interested in what I am learning--and what they need to know to protect themselves and their families in case of a disaster--natural or man made, were to occur in their immediate communities.  There is much we all can do in awareness--and if you all are not readily aware and prepared--there is much to fear.  Especially the unknown.  As we all know now--the world is becoming ever connected via social media sites, news programs, etc.  There is a lot of information out there and I want to share with all of you important information that you all can do to be aware on how to prepare, and take care of yourself and family in the most trivial of times. 

http://www.ready.gov/
    http://www.citizencorps.gov/
    http://www.fema.gov/

These sites are a great way to become informed--and stay informed.

I just wanted to make you all aware of this public information that is available for everyone--you and your families--please feel free to pass this information along. 

Take care!

Sandy
    aka AIDY

1. alexandriaruthk profile image69
      alexandriaruthkposted 14 years agoin reply to this

thank you for the information

2. profile image0
    cosetteposted 14 years ago

thank you.

i always wonder how protected our nation's computer systems are, for example, at power plants, dams and places like that. if those were ever breached, we would be in big trouble.

1. AdsenseStrategies profile image64
      AdsenseStrategiesposted 14 years agoin reply to this

I once heard someone say that the reason nuclear power plants are a bad idea as a replacement for coal-fired plants is that they could be targets for terrorism. I liked that idea at the time; since then, however, I have become a 911 conspiracy theorist sad