Not sure what you're asking, Brie.
Analytics will tell you what clicks from individual hubs pay, but not individual clicks unless they are the only one from that hub.
The keyword tool will tell what keywords are costing advertisers; as we earn 68% of that cost you can tell what it will likely earn. It is not set in stone, however, as it (I think) is a bidding process.
Oh...and, what is a good CPC amount? Is a dollar a good amount?
The way I understand it, the answer is "it depends".
The thing is, every internet entrepreneur is out there looking for high-paying keywords, so the competition is too intense for those. So some people take a counter-intuitive approach, and go for the lower-paying words where there's less competition. Less competition means more traffic. Better to get thousands of clicks at a few cents each, than 2 clicks at a dollar.
That's absolutely true Marisa Wright, "better to get thousands of clicks at a few cents each than 2 clicks at a dollar." Most times the hunt for high paying keywords do land most publishers to less web traffic to hubs or owned sites due to high competition on such keywords and probably with low daily/monthly searches.
I see any keyword research tool as an essential guiding tool to writing hubs or articles that get targeted traffic first. Checking to get the CPC on the same is worth it at all times.
Brie have you watched this video it is very helpful
I haven't been using Adsense very long, just a week on hubpages and a little longer on my blog, but I haven't received a single click yet, so I'm still waiting see what they could be worth...
The CPC is estimated, and average, and if an Adsense Publisher (that's you and I) were to get an ad served that was that exact CPC (the cost per click to the advertiser) then we'd get 67% of that amount.
However, it is as Marisa says: "it depends"
The reason being is that Adwords Advertisers will nominate however amount they want, and the estimated average is worked out from ALL the $$$ that Adwords Advertisers are paying for a campaign based on those keywords that you're researching.
So use it as a guideline.
But, from what I understand you want to find low competition, high CPC, and high search rate...is that right?
As long as its not both low CPC AND low search volume.
As for the competition, I believe it's the competitive nature of the keyword for advertisers, so I don't think it's something that directly affects the publisher.
Keep in mind too, there are lots of other people targeting the high CPC and high search volumes. So much so that it doesn't come as a surprise that people with content leaning towards those topics often find their articles being copied and published elsewhere.
A lot of google ads are delivered which are not based around the contents of a hub, so much as the specific interests of the particular visitor.
Once you realize that, you also realize that the adword CPC is not hugely useful for predicting the amount of money you can make out of a page.
Because, the keyword you write a page to will often not be the one that Google advertises to your 'guest'.
by Rahul Parashar 5 years ago
Okay, I am really confused as to how people do keyword research and find some good low competition keywords, because I for one have not figured it out yet. The more deep I dig in, the more confusing it gets.For instance, I found some low competition keywords with good amount of searches per month,...
by aoiffe379 8 years ago
I have a topic that I researched in Google keyword tool.There were thre columns- Competition,Global Search and Local Search. WhatI realize from reading other hubbers is that traffic and clicks depend on 'evergreen' topics,knowledge, interest,luck,precise keywords for search engines,satisfying needs...
by HELLA 8 years ago
Hi All! I have a keyword that is searched for at least 2,000 per month with a high CPC. Every time I get a click however, I make like 50 cents on the click...the keyword is worth more than 20 bucks according to he Google Keyword Tool. What's the deal here? Am I missing something? Do I earn money...
by EmpressFelicity 8 years ago
...guess what? It seems that unless I'm missing something, you now need to have an AdWords account to get the keyword tool to show the estimated average CPC for a keyword/phrase. If you don't have an AdWords account, you can *sort* by CPC, but you can't actually view the CPC column any...
by Isaac Asante 4 years ago
Hi guys,For a while I've been using Google's Keyword Tool to research high-paying keywords and their estimate monthly traffic. Normally, what I do is that I look for Low competition keywords with around 1,000 monthly searches, and less than a million results in Google Search, then I look at the...
by Eugene Brennan 22 months ago
So CPC is say "x", there are 6 clicks and earnings are 6x. Then later in the day CPC suddenly changes to 1/2x, clicks increase to 8, but earnings are now only 8 x (1/2x) = 4x. If CPC changes, shouldn't pre-existing earnings remain the same?
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