When one publishes a hub and then goes back and edits it, can there be some indication that the hub has been edited? This way people who have seen it before can come back and look at the new changes/additions.
I also think that's a good idea, and often wondered if anybody ever returns to a hub so that they notice the edits.
Its a good idea if the date of revision is marked below the title as "Updated 20th August 2008".
I think this would be a good way to let others know of updates.
We would be able to see the latest date that the hub was revised.
Good idea :]
You know, a lot of sites DON'T do something like that, as it makes it very clear how many pages/hubs/whatever were created at some point in the past and then never, ever updated or revised by the author.
There's a clumsy workaround for that already. Unpublish the Hub, then make your changes, then add the new revision date somewhere in the Hub, then add something like "Update,' then republish.
Whew, that was exhausting!
Lady Guinevere's idea is waaayyy better. Only thing I'd add is a suggestion to make the revision notice optional, with the default set to Off.
Personally, I would not want to have a slew of e-mails go out because I went in and fixed a typo (on the other hand, that could get me lots more page views, and some interesting fan mail ...)
That will not send out a thing saying the hub was published or anything. I've tried that.
My suggestion in the following thread (http://hubpages.com/forum/topic/5235) was to give hubers the option of clicking a box when they go in and edit that sends an email to the people in their fans saying the hub has been edited. As sometimes you only make small changes that does not require a mass email being sent, whereas sometimes you make big changes that you want people to know.
That would be perfect.
I discovered the "workaround" after accidentally unpublishing, then re-publishing one of my very first Hubs. It showed up on Hubtivity as a new Hub, even though my "revision" was a teensy typo fix. Embarrassing, that. (Maybe no e-mails went out? I assumed they had.)
Why you have republished its your mistake because there is option of editing and then saving editing is there no need to republish it.
Some people WANT to republish if they have made significant revisions, so it shows up as a new hub and gets some new attention. Also, I don't think there is another way to do it if you want to change the title.
Well, I was a newbie at the time (still am, sort of). I think that was my second Hub, and I was trying to change the title. That's a little different from changing the body of the text.
Yup. Sometimes you want to republish, sometimes you don't.
Actually -- as I found out the hard way -- you can change the title without republishing. But the change won't show up until you get out of Edit mode (after you press "Done Editing").
You can change the title, but not the URL. One of my hubs is titled "3 Ways....", but the URL is "5-Ways...."
I had intended to write 5 ways to do whatever it was, then changed my mind. Now the title and link name don't match.
I would have to start over and republish, but I don't want to lose the comments.
Editing mistakes is one thing, but I added pictures that I found to one of my hubs and need to have people who read that hub see the new pictures. This is why I wanted the new feature of sending out the new version or the additions. I will also be going into some of my book that I am publishing and making additions to that as well. Sooo I don't want to have to tell everyone that I have added pictures or made new additions and such to my hubs when it can do that if it simply says that the hub has been updated.
by Beth100 4 years ago
When you publish a hub, it is normally listed under hub activity and a notification is sent via email to all interested parties. Now, when you unpublish that hub, finish re-editing and then republish it (keeping the original title intact), will it appear in the hub activity? Also, will...
by Adrienne Janet Farricelli 6 years ago
One of my hubs required some fixing and as I fixed it up I was unable to republish it. The moment I pressed on done editing and publish, the screen would not update. It appeared all sort of grayish. I guess this is part of technical problems due to the new layout. Just wanted to report this issue.
by youssefdoukkali 5 years ago
Are we allowed to republish our articles elsewhere and keep the original hubs here in the mean time?
by Mothers of Nations 4 years ago
How do you change the permalink on a hub article?Or would you have to unpublish the article, then re-publish it like a new one?
by Patricia Scott 5 years ago
If one of your hubs is idled, what do you do?Do you delete it, or do you unpublish it, work on it, and republish it?
by And Drewson 7 years ago
We need an indication of what link is causing this error.Either that, or a list of sites that are prohibited. Expecting us to go through every link HOPING that we find the offending link is a waste of our time.This kind of message is not helpful."This hub contains prohibited promotional links,...
|HubPages Device ID|
|Login||This is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.|
|HubPages Google Analytics|
|HubPages Traffic Pixel|
|Google Hosted Libraries|
|Google AdSense Host API|
|Conversion Tracking Pixels|
|Author Google Analytics|
|Amazon Tracking Pixel|