When Should I Stay At Home?

Jump to Last Post 1-10 of 10 discussions (22 posts)
  1. Habby profile image61
    Habbyposted 13 years ago

I am currently a SAHM and really value this role and the opportunity to invest in my children.  My three children are all 5 and under, so I thought this was THE most important time to stay home with them.  When this phase was over, I was thinking of going back to teaching.  (I was an English teacher in a previous life. wink)

But...I've been talking with mommies of teenagers and beyond, and they think it is equally as important if not more so to be at home when children are in junior high and high school.

Does anyone else have an opinion?

1. goldenpath profile image67
      goldenpathposted 13 years agoin reply to this

There is no greater call than that of a teacher.  A teacher is what we are all called to do.  We teach each other and teach the rising generation.  We all want to feel useful in society, plus we perceive the need of that extra income, so we go ahead and continue to work even when our time is more needed elsewhere.  This is the travesty of our time.

Abraham Lincoln is quoted as saying, "I owe all that I am to my mother."  Think and contemplate that saying.  What an expression of reverence to his mother.  Mothers instill peace, charity and love to their children.  Mothers nurture and comfort when the child is sick.  Mothers have an inborn ability to recognize and invest in powers greater than they, and are able to build that firm foundation in their young.  All these virtues are carried throughout life and should be taught to our youth while yet young.  This, mothers through their God given divine attributes, should do so that their children may one day say, "I owe all that I am to my mother."