jump to last post 1-9 of 9 discussions (10 posts)

What is most important to you when eating? Is it Nutrition, Taste or Quantity? W

1. Cardisa profile image92
    Cardisaposted 6 years ago

What is most important to you when eating? Is it Nutrition, Taste or Quantity? Why?

https://usercontent1.hubstatic.com/4788712_f260.jpg

2. profile image0
    Gigi Thibodeauposted 6 years ago

Good question.  At the moment when I'm eating, I think taste matters most to me, but in the big picture, when I'm planning meals to cook, I'm always thinking nutrition.  I'm a pretty darn good cook, so I know it will taste good.  smile

3. Ask_DJ_Lyons profile image85
    Ask_DJ_Lyonsposted 6 years ago

Prior to going through breast cancer, taste, texture, smell, and looks were all important.

During chemo, since I could not taste much of what I ate, nutrition became my primary objective. I ate just enough to get by since I lacked an appetite. For me, since I couldn't taste my food, eating became a very boring activity. I would haunt buffet restaurants chasing after that illusive taste factor.

Now that I am cured of breast cancer, a combination of taste and nutrition are my primary objectives. I want to eat mostly nutritious foods as I never want to get cancer again. I also want my food to taste good.

As for quantity, I try to exercise portion control in all that I eat. That is a work-in-progress.

4. BlissfulWriter profile image72
    BlissfulWriterposted 6 years ago

Nutrition is the most important by far.  Second is to mind the quantity.   Dr. Mark Hyman (perhaps you saw him on TV or on YouTube) said that the single most important decision you make every day is what to put in your mouth.

I think he said it in this YouTube video when he gave a talk at Google.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zAZVpsd2Nao

5. Ruchira profile image78
    Ruchiraposted 6 years ago

I feel all the 3 factors have an important role to play in regards to eating.