ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing

Books By James Patterson – The Alex Cross US Detective Series

Updated on March 9, 2011
Cross Fire by James Patterson - The Alex Cross Series
Cross Fire by James Patterson - The Alex Cross Series

Buy James Patterson Books

If you love reading compelling thrillers filled with twists and turns then you will love the Books by James Patterson. He has written over 60 books through out his 33 year writing career and has received many different awards and accolades for his works.

About The Man

James Patterson was born on 22 March 1947. He studied and ManhattanCollege where he graduated with a Bachelors Degree. This was followed by a Masters from VanderbiltUniversity.

He used to work in advertising and only retired from this profession in 1996 where he became a full time writer.

The genre that he is best known for is producing fictional detective novels. He has created two distinctly different detective series which have not only been sold worldwide but have also become part of history by topping the bestseller book lists many times over.

The Alex Cross Series

he Alex Cross series of books is about a black detective and psychologist who lives and works in Washington DC.

At the beginning of the collection of these novels he used to work for the Metropolitan Police Department within the homicide division. He moved on to work for the Federal Bureau of Investigation before leaving to work as a private psychologist and consultant for the government.

These books have become some of the most popular stories around the world and consistently do well in an array of best seller lists.

There are over 15 titles within the Alex Cross Detective Series.

Here are the names of those books in order of publication:

  • Along Came a Spider
  • Kiss The Girls
  • Jack & Jill
  • Cat & Mouse
  • Pop Goes the Weasel
  • Roses are Red
  • Violets are Blue
  • Four Blind Mice
  • The Big Bad Wolf
  • London Bridges
  • Mary Mary
  • Cross
  • Double Cross
  • Cross Country
  • Alex Cross’s Trial
  • I, Alex Cross
  • Cross Fire

Some of the books from the Alex Cross Collection have been made into movies.

Along Came A Spider DVD

Along Came A Spider

This was the very first novel in the series. It was originally penned in 1992. Almost a decade later in 2001 it was adapted into a major movie starring Morgan Freeman and Monica Potter.

The book was adapted and the resulting screenplay was written by Marc Moss. The main plot surrounding this book is about the kidnapping of two children from a wealth family. The film is slightly different to the novel as many of the threads were either reduced or removed in order to streamline the finished film.

Kiss The Girls DVD

Kiss The Girls

The second book in the series was actually made into a film before Along Came A Spider. It also starred Morgan Freeman in the title role along with Ashley Judd.  The screenplay was written by David Glass and the film came out in 1997.

The main plot is about the hunt for two serial killers who are kidnapping women.

If you are love thrillers then you will definitely enjoy reading this collection of books.  You will find that once you start a book, it will be hard to put it down.


Submit a Comment

No comments yet.