Stop Hiding Behind Veterans To Prop Up Your Racist Arguments

Jump to Last Post 1-17 of 17 discussions (196 posts)
  1. wrenchBiscuit profile image68
    wrenchBiscuitposted 9 years ago

http://s2.hubimg.com/u/9097131.jpg
    I have seen a lot of posts made of late against the so-called illegal immigrants from south of the border. I have also heard a lot of smack about how we should be helping our "wonderful veterans" instead. Really?

Hear Ye! Hear Ye! I am one of those wonderful veterans. (1974-1981) I am a Vietnam Era vet. I enlisted at 17 and served in the Navy; I never went to Vietnam. I served 6 years total and received 2 honorable discharges. Furthermore, my father was Tsalagi, and so my roots in this country pre-date Columbus and the European Invasion. My mother's family was Dutch, and so the European side of my family essentially came to this continent uninvited. They were by today's definition, "illegal aliens".

Let it be known that I welcome all who wish to come here from south of the border. They are my brothers and my sisters. If I must sacrifice for them, then so be it. Jesus was beaten like a dog, and hung up on a cross for me. Martin Luther King gave up his life to help people. John Brown, a white man, gave up his life for another race of people, and Nelson Mandela sat in a prison for 27 years to help someone besides himself. I will give the people south of the border "all" that I can give, and that is all that any man can do.