They say art is a way of life, but can you live it?

Jump to Last Post 1-26 of 26 discussions (43 posts)
  1. Skydweller profile image58
    Skydwellerposted 14 years ago

People say that art is a way of life. There are many people who have spent their lifetime for the sake of art gaining very less for themselves. What do you think?

1. profile image0
      sandra rinckposted 14 years agoin reply to this

I think the artist rarely ever gains financial but is influential.

Passion, flair, brush strokes, the way they deliver a message, their composure, the ideas about life...

They only become rich after words because it takes a while for people to figure it out and when they do, they are like omg, I would give you a billion dollars for the rights to that because so and so influenced the entire era of such and such...

or so I think. big_smile

2. Bard of Ely profile image79
      Bard of Elyposted 14 years agoin reply to this

I am an artist in many ways as a writer, singer and songwriter, poet, writer, photographer and I can see my life as an artform because it inspires others to write about it and me and I inspire artists to make paintings and drawings of me.

I make a very small amount for my efforts and have lived mainly as a struggling artist and writer so I think I can honestly say I fit your description.

3. dutchman1951 profile image61
      dutchman1951posted 14 years agoin reply to this

I think it is very possible, people have, are and do live it.
      Interesting life I would think.

4. Rod Marsden profile image68
      Rod Marsdenposted 14 years agoin reply to this

I think you can live for art because you need to live for something. I also believe you need that other job while you pray your art takes off.

5. bojanglesk8 profile image60
      bojanglesk8posted 14 years agoin reply to this

You can live it but it's a hard life.

2. Pearldiver profile image67
    Pearldiverposted 14 years ago