one of my hubs has been copied word for word on another site, at this moment in time hubpages are clamping down on duplicate content hubs, will my hubscore be lowered because of someone copying my hub.
http://hubpages.com/hub/5_Ways_to_Kiss_a_Girl
http://super-ways.com/5-ways-to-kiss-a-girl/
thanks in advance......jimmy
That's quite interesting - the text is a straight lift, without your graphics, but it's not so much a theft as an assumption of permission, because there is no attempt to claim originality. It is clearly credited to you.
Are you inclined to ask them to remove it, or to leave it there, on the old adage - all publicity is good publicity?
I had the same thing happen to a short story of mine which was lifted complete from one of my blogs and appeared verbatim on squiddoo.
The price of fame, mate!
The number of duplicates must reach above a certain threshold before the duplicate penalty kicks in. I just took a look at there are no duplicates being registered yet, Jimmy.
If your Hub's content continues to be copied and the dupe checker does assign a penalty (you'll know because it will say so in the top notification pane), then let us know and we can issue an override, since we are 100% certain you are the owner.
However, it is in your best interest to make sure that copies don't start stealing your search traffic, so I'd contact the site owner and request them to remove the copy since it was copied without your permission.
- Jason
Jason Menayan wrote:
However, it is in your best interest to make sure that copies don't start stealing your search traffic, so I'd contact the site owner and request them to remove the copy since it was copied without your permission.
- Jason
that site page has had more hits than my hub has lol, but i have left a comment because i cannot find a contact us page on the site.....jimmy
Hi Jimmy -
Another alternative is to contact the search engines - presumably Google & Yahoo - and ask them to remove their results from the search rankings. Unfortunately Google's DMCA complaint must be faxed or (snail) mailed, but Yahoo's can be emailed.
http://www.seologic.com/faq/dmca-notifications.php
Might not be worth the trouble unless you have significant traffic to a Hub that's being challenged by a copy on another high-traffic site.
- Jason
Here's the whois info for the domain:
Domain Name: SUPER-WAYS.COM
Registrant:
PrivacyProtect.org
Domain Admin (contact@privacyprotect.org)
P.O. Box 65
All Postal Mails Rejected, visit Privacyprotect.org
Monster
null,2680 AB
NL
Tel. +45.36946676
Creation Date: 17-Apr-2007
Expiration Date: 17-Apr-2008
Domain servers in listed order:
ns2.robo-host.ru
ns1.robo-host.ru
Given that the domain name server is in Russia... well they're probably not going to care about your copyright ownership.
Contacting the hosting company would have been an option, but not in this case.
I must admit ,that I am surprised and shocked lol , after I left a comment in the posting the moderators have removed the page thanks everyone for the help.........jimmy
Well that was easy! ![]()
how do you find out that your work has be plagarised? A google search for an exact phrase that you know is yours ?
hi lissie, i found it by searching the web for my hub title.....jimmy
Lissie wrote:
how do you find out that your work has be plagarised? A google search for an exact phrase that you know is yours ?
That'll work as long as the pages are indexed but often they aren't. You could also use something like Copyscape.
I definitely agree about contacting Google and other search engines. In my experience, Google has been really good about addressing issues like this. A "we're yanking your AdSense privileges due to plagiarism" might just be a handy wake-up call for them. ![]()
Hi Lissie
I have had three of my pages copied in the last six months and with devastating affects in Google, meaning the pages were removed from the index.
How did I discover this was happening? I was fooling about with a site called copyscape and typed in a few of my urls that had seemed to decline in the search engines and found that my pages had been copied. In one case the whole site had been downloaded and re-uploaded as there own.
Two of these webmasters removed the page as soon as I had emailed them the third however told me to go to hell... I have emailed all the details of this site to Google not sure if anything will happen but there TOS cliams that they take these things seriously we can only wait and see.
