Has anyone had any success with .edu or .gov back links?

Jump to Last Post 1-20 of 20 discussions (32 posts)
  1. TerryGl profile image58
    TerryGlposted 14 years ago

There are many .edu and .gov sites at the moment that allow a back link through either a blog dofollow comment or forum profile dofollow link.

I have about three hundred such links that are auto approved in joining the forum or making a comment. ( I know, the list is gold).

My question is, has anyone had success using these types of backlinks? If so how many or how often did you use them?

I am also wondering if anyone used these types of backlinks was their site punished or actually promoted in the search engines?

The links I have are spam free in the comments area and for all intents and purposes fall on a sound edu and gov authority site making any activity seem natural.

1. Starfishfelix profile image61
      Starfishfelixposted 14 years agoin reply to this

I'm not an expert at SEO at all, but my understanding is that backlinks can't hurt, although they might be ignored if Google doesn't like them.  The reasoning is that you have no control over your incoming links (an unsavory competitor could link a bunch of "bad" pages to yours to ruin your business if that were the case).

I've heard *.edu & *.gov are good though.

2. RoyalKing profile image58
      RoyalKingposted 14 years agoin reply to this

It is good to get links from .edu and .gov sites but make sure they are all above pr4 to get quality vote from authority sites.

3. Expomovers profile image59
      Expomoversposted 4 years agoin reply to this

Cool

2. Peter Hoggan profile image67
    Peter Hogganposted 14 years ago

IMO, I doubt if a link from an .edu or .gov is more beneficial than a link from a .com or a .org etc. What matters is relevance and other signals. For example the geo location (country) of the server hosting the page that links to yours will help boost rankings in that country slightly more than other countries.