Hi, I'm new! And stuck!

Jump to Last Post 1-7 of 7 discussions (28 posts)
  1. QuestionandAnswer profile image60
    QuestionandAnswerposted 10 years ago

Hi there,

So, I am completely new to HubPages and it has taken me a little while to put something together in order to test out how it works. I have a feeling my first Hub is not going to stand the test of time, however, now that I am reading through more and more of other peoples' hubs. I've written for various other sites before, including Huffington Post, and so I have picked up my own writing style. Looking through other hubs I can see that perhaps I am being too opinionated and not objective enough. I don't know if this is actually going to be a problem or not? I could really do with some advice before I start working on my next addition.
    Is an opinion post useless (even if it has others opinions and facts) or will it gather interest eventually? Also, one of the topics in my first hub is quite 'current' which I'm not sure on either. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Bex

1. Cardisa profile image89
      Cardisaposted 10 years agoin reply to this

Opinion pieces are okay to start with, however, you must make sure it is still informative to the reader. Hubs that do well are usually evergreen so be mindful of that as well. Since I don't know your subject I can tell you whether that particular piece will get noticed.

For a guide on creating stellar hubs please visit the learning center: http://hubpages.com/learningcenter/Elem … tellar-Hub

Welcome to hubpages and good luck!

QuestionandAnswerposted 10 years agoin reply to this

Hi Cardisa,

Thank you very much for that article. I've had a look through and now believe (I hope) that I have a better idea of what is to be expected.

Thanks for the welcome and the luck!

Bex

2. schoolgirlforreal profile image76
        schoolgirlforrealposted 10 years agoin reply to this