jump to last post 1-14 of 14 discussions (14 posts)

Do you think it is okay to meet someone in person that you talk to online?

1. flashmakeit profile image70
    flashmakeitposted 6 years ago

Do you think it is okay to meet someone in person that you talk to online?

2. lukeuk profile image71
    lukeukposted 6 years ago

Yeah certainly. If you have had a video chat with them on skype and you know they are not using a false identity then your fine. Just meet in an open place like a coffee shop. I think its a real shame that so many people don't meet from online because of that stigma attached to it.

3. Michael Ray King profile image78
    Michael Ray Kingposted 6 years ago

I tried to answer this question with a simple "yes", but was notified the "answer was too short." I don't see anything wrong with meeting someone in person that I've talked to online. In fact, there are a number of Hubbers I've been interacting with for a couple years now. I would find meeting them to be a fascinating experience. Never done it, but who knows? Maybe someday...

4. creativebutterfly profile image61
    creativebutterflyposted 6 years ago

Yes but as already said meet in public, during the day for coffee, then if it does not work out you can leave fairly easily.   If you meet for a meal then you hve to wait until the meal is over before you can leave.

5. SuperheroSales profile image61
    SuperheroSalesposted 6 years ago

I definitely think it is okay to meet people you speak with online in person, but you want to be extremely cautious.  Get to know the person really well first, both personality and making sure they are the physical person they say they are.  It also helps if you get a chance to interact online or by phone with that person's friends or family to get more of an idea of what kind of a person they are.  This way you can more easily assume that they are not trying to trick you or do something bad (by keeping your interactions a secret from others for some reason).