Tip For Rookie Hubbies

Jump to Last Post 1-15 of 15 discussions (43 posts)
  1. Jerrico Usher profile image57
    Jerrico Usherposted 15 years ago

I'm seeing a lot of new Hubbers in the forum lately so I thought I'd offer up some starter tips. I'm by no means an expert at this stuff but I have learned a few things that may help you with SEO and Google traffic: (this is a bit long so if you don't like long posts you probably should click out of here smile and it is written for complete newbies but anyone could use it I assume.

1. Your title

should be focused on your hubs theme. I would suggest that you sketch out your hub in word or a text editor before even creating the new hub, as you can't change the url title of your hub once you created it. You can change the title of your hub but this doesn't change the url (and the url is what's important in Google).

Sketch out the basic hub concept a rough draft if you will. Read it over and figure out a 4 word keyword phrase that would describe the hub's purpose. Keeping in mind that this will be what someone Googling your hubs topic would put in the search engine to try and find this information.

Once you get this figured out go create a new hub but use this "keyword phrase" in the title.

i.e. if your hub is about how to kiss use a phrase like "how to kiss" but when you write your title use this phrase in a sentence like:

"Great tips on how to kiss on the first date"

2. Capsule usage and SubHeadings and Keyword Saturation

Now you have your title squared away and your keyword chosen, integrate your rough draft into the hub using at least 4 text capsules and 4 picture capsules. Separate the context into a new capsule about every 2-4 paragraphs. Google loves those heading tags that show up when you write the heading at the top of your capsule, the title part that bold prints when you publish the capsule into the hub.