Flu Shots, Human Rights Vs. Corporate Rights

Jump to Last Post 1-13 of 13 discussions (36 posts)
  1. kittythedreamer profile image75
    kittythedreamerposted 11 years ago

So how about these nurses who have gotten fired because they refused the mandatory flu shots? The hospital that these nurses worked at for years in Indiana began requiring flu shots this year, and eight or nine of them refused...and they were all fired. Understandable that the hospital wants to protect its patients, but what about protecting its employees basic human rights? Thoughts?

1. Dale Hyde profile image66
      Dale Hydeposted 11 years agoin reply to this

In such a work environment you have people with weak immune systems that are more likely to suffer dire consequences from contracting the flu.  As a health-care professional, I feel that you should have to  take the shot to protect the patients.  You have to look at the health of the patients first in this instance.

2. Ericdierker profile image49
      Ericdierkerposted 11 years agoin reply to this

Why did most nurses accept it? Inoculation, vaccination, contraceptives are designed to protect us from contact with the world. Nurses are designed to treat patients as doctors are designed to conquer disease.
      If I was a nurse with a family, I would want the dose to protect my family from my work. And if I could not work within that system I would divorce myself from it. I think that the Dali Lama was right -- do no harm. The nurses should look elsewhere for work.

3. wilderness profile image95
      wildernessposted 11 years agoin reply to this

I have to go with the others here.

Nurses have rights, certainly, but so do patients and the hospital.  When a patient contracts the flu from a nurse and dies from it, what happens to the hospital?  Does the hospital have no rights to protect itself as well as the patient?

4. A Driveby Quipper profile image59
      A Driveby Quipperposted 11 years agoin reply to this