Are All Americans Becoming Drug Addicts?

Jump to Last Post 1-29 of 29 discussions (94 posts)
  1. Georgiakevin profile image60
    Georgiakevinposted 14 years ago

Pick up any magazine and notice how many advertisements there are for drugs. Watch television and notice how many advertisements there are for various drugs. Go to any drug store and notice how many over the counter drugs there on the shelves. Anytime we get a sniffle, sore muscle or a slight headache we reach for an over the counter medicine. Not because we really need it but because we have been told by the drug companies on television, print media and radio that we would be better off if we took them.

As a teacher I am always interested in behavior management for students who are ADD/ ADHD. When I first moved to Georgia I was excited to take a class on students who are ADD/ADHD (Attention Deficit Disorder/ Attention Hyperactive Disorder) as I knew that there is a lot of research going on about ADD/ADHD. The class was about specific medicines used to treat ADHD/ADD. I was appalled. I learned that to obtain medicine for the treatment of ADD/ADHD all a parent has to do is to go a doctor and say my child can't behave, sit still, stay focused or pay attention in school/at home and a doctor will prescribe medicine.

At least right now we cannot go in to the doctor's office and say "I have a sore throat stuffed nose and runny eyes I need medicine" and expect to get medicine without at least a cursory exam. You may still get whatever medicine the television, radio or print media is telling us to ask for but not without at least a basic examination.

Some of us worry about illegal drugs but we have a much bigger problem...legal drugs. I have a friend who took her own life because she could not get free of her prescription drug addiction, an addiction that was encouraged by society as a whole and her doctor specifically.