How long does it take to get over a divorce?

Jump to Last Post 1-7 of 7 discussions (13 posts)
  1. Mcham Law profile image61
    Mcham Lawposted 12 years ago

How much time passes before you are over a divorce? I'm a divorce lawyer and I help people end their relationships but I'm never around to see how long it takes before they are better. It seems most of them are pretty emotionally distraught when I see them last and I'm wondering what the healing time is.

1. Lisa HW profile image62
      Lisa HWposted 12 years agoin reply to this

Do you mean "mentally/emotionally" over the fact that the marriage ended, or over the "horror show" that the long process of trying to get a divorce through the court system, and the outside-the-system consequences that can result?

With regard to "mentally/emotionally" over the fact that the marriage ended, I was over that before I left my marriage.

With regard to post-leaving horror show that, to this day, has never been addressed, corrected, or acknowledged; I'm still living in it - and I left my marriage in 1991.  At this point, I'm "having issues" with the fact that I have yet to be able to get free of my marriage/divorce situation and - for once and bloody all - be able to live the life I'd hoped to find by leaving the marriage

So, for me (and as far as I know a lot of other people who could have a simple divorce that would have been quick to get over), there was no need to "get over" when I left the marriage; but as time has gone on, there is becoming a increasing number of circumstances/losses/situations (all solely and directly resulting the mishandling in the legal system and/or from laws that don't adequately address victims and protecting children) from which there will be no "getting over" - ever.

2. profile image0
      Home Girlposted 12 years agoin reply to this