What Do You Think of Windows 7

Jump to Last Post 1-50 of 53 discussions (63 posts)
  1. profile image0
    Wag The Dogposted 14 years ago

So far, I like what I have seen and heard about the new Windows 7.  But what do you think?  Is it worth all the hype?

I thought that I would like XP, but I don't.  Will Windows 7 be the cure?

1. Karina S. profile image59
      Karina S.posted 14 years agoin reply to this

I have been using it for 2 weeks and i like it, but i am not an expert.

1. technocrates profile image59
        technocratesposted 14 years agoin reply to this

I think my hub will help you out...and helps you to take the decision:
        http://hubpages.com/hub/Windows-7-is-it-worth-to-go-for

2. Cirdon profile image59
    Cirdonposted 14 years ago

I ran the Windows 7 release candidate for about six months (and my husband now runs the release version of Win7 Professional), and in my experience, as far as Windows OSes go, it's fantastic. It's actually the first version of Windows that I've seen that has actually been ready to go and runs well on release day (as opposed to running basically half-finished until at least Service Pack 1).

Compatibility was never an issue. If it ran on Vista, it ran on 7, and if something didn't run natively, Microsoft has released program that comes with Professional and Ultimate that allows for it to run (XP virtual mode). This worked both with software (of which we were running even the ancient game Age of Empires II, albeit not the best quality in the world, thanks to the game itself not supporting the graphics capabilities of modern computers, but still very much playable) and drivers (of which I had stuff from several companies that made it clear they had no plans to write Win7 drivers until either it came out or there was enough demand for them).