The most brazen article theft I've ever experienced

Jump to Last Post 1-4 of 4 discussions (13 posts)
  1. RonElFran profile image95
    RonElFranposted 9 years ago

I just discovered one of my Civil War articles copied in it's entirety, without attribution, in the online newsletter of a "camp" of the Sons of Confederate Veterans. That's not an organization with which I am entirely in sympathy! I thought about contacting them, but then I saw this disclaimer in their newsletter:

Copyright Notice:
    In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, any copyrighted material published herein is distributed under fair use without profit or payment to those who are interested in receiving the provided information for non - profit research and educational purpose only. Reference: Http: www .law. cornell .eduuscode/17/107 .shtml

They claim "fair use" in copying an entire 2339 word article! I'm not an expert on such matters, but I'm pretty sure you can't just steal someone's entire article and publish it as your own, without even giving the author credit, under a fair use exemption.

I have sent a DMCA complaint to Google. But this newsletter appears to be mainly distributed in print form, and I don't know anything I can do about that.

Maybe I should just take some solace in the thought that even the SCV likes my work.

1. ChristinS profile image38
      ChristinSposted 9 years agoin reply to this

copying an entire article does indeed violate copyright law and is not "fair use" at all.  "Fair Use" would be if they cited a small section of your article - that they credited you for and then wrote their on commentary on it.  Taking a whole article, republishing and claiming it as "fair use" is bogus.  I would contact them and tell them they can pay you for their use of your work or you will consider all your options under the law.