Logic Conclusion: Atheism doesn't exists

Jump to Last Post 1-17 of 17 discussions (49 posts)
  1. IntroduceCroatia profile image57
    IntroduceCroatiaposted 12 years ago

Well, I just want you to say that Atheism doesn't exist.
    Why ?
    Because atheism means in a broad sense, the rejection of belief ( Wikipedia) But atheists BELIEVE that God DOESN'T exist, so how come you're an atheist ?

If God doesn't exist how come we have MIND and SOUL. I mean that (mind) cannot evolve because animals don't have minds. And MIND is not BRAIN. I'm studying philosophy and I'm not defending any religion and I'm trying to be objective.

Can atheists explain me what's the thought ?
    You don't see your mind so that means that it doesn't exist ?

I expect no childish comments and insults, I just want you to have an argument against Mine because my job as philosopher is to explain the TRUTH.

Hope to hear your thoughts.

1. autumn18 profile image58
      autumn18posted 12 years agoin reply to this

The fact that we have minds doesn't lead to the conclusion that a God exists. Atheists simply don't hold a belief that God or Gods exist. It's not a belief system.

2. Pcunix profile image91
      Pcunixposted 12 years agoin reply to this

Computers don't exist either.  They do stuff we can't see.

Gravity doesn't exist and neither do x-rays.    Air almost doesn't exist - good thing we can feel it!

3. Marisa Wright profile image86
      Marisa Wrightposted 12 years agoin reply to this

The word "believe" can be used in two different ways. You're deliberately conflating the two.

If you say "I believe in God", you're using the first meaning - "to accept God as true without the need for evidence".