Hubpages Changes vs Other Sites Changes

Jump to Last Post 1-25 of 25 discussions (98 posts)
  1. profile image0
    Marye Audetposted 13 years ago

You know...I have been reading the forums more than usual lately, partially to keep up with the PANDA-moan-ium and partly to see what changes are being made that may have an effect on my articles.

You can take this or leave it...but at least read it. I work as a freelance writer for several clients, as well as Hubpages and having my own blogs. Every single client I have is reeling from Panda and making HUGE sweeping changes in order to come into compliance.

EVERY single client that I have is having its top writers rewrite articles that have been around 3 or 4 years. This month alone I have done well more than 30 rewrites on other sites, not even my own work but work by other writers that used to be considered top notch and is now considered low quality.

Now, if sites that hire only professional writers are having to scramble, you have to figure that Hubpages, where a large percentage of the population are not professional writers, will have to scramble as much or more to sift through content and make changes.

Any writer can tell you that there is very little writing that is done that isn't edited before it is published even when you are talking about writers with their work on the NY Times bestseller list.

It seems a little silly to assume that Hubpages is trying to keep people from making money when their own income is based on what the writers here make.If they are making 40% of what you make then they want you to make A LOT, I guarantee it.

Sadly, making money takes work. It is the way it is. If you want to write and publish whatever you want, however you want you can get free blog space on several venues.