On the Other Side of the Fence - By Farah

Jump to Last Post 1-16 of 16 discussions (18 posts)
  1. ravirajan01 profile image95
    ravirajan01posted 9 months ago

Farah has written a poignant poem on the horrors of war and its terrible effects on an ordinary person.She tells a touching story in which the victim dreams of the other side of the fence where there is no war and peace rules supreme. Ultimately, she hopes for better times and the ending of the war. A great write for today's world we live in. The link is below.

https://hubpages.com/literature/on-the- … -the-fence

1. tsmog profile image84
      tsmogposted 9 months agoin reply to this

I enjoyed the poem while realizing I am spoiled in a sense. I have no personal experience with war and all its horrors. I can only use my imagination for a bit and a byte, then go on with my day.

Not oddly, the time I spent to read your poem, Farah, and then ponder it could be the time a person living where there is war took to imagine a place with heavenly peace and put it emotionally onto paper as a poem.

The same amount of time was spent. I am seeking to empathize through use of poetic words with pondering another's life living with the terror of war. The other seeking to escape that terror while in a sense plead with the cosmos for peace in one's homeland.

The difference is I take it for granted! It convicts my soul to be grateful. Thanks for bringing that to my realization!

2. Farah N Huq profile image83
    Farah N Huqposted 9 months ago

Thank you so much, Ravi, for sharing my poem and for this lovely feedback. I am happy to know that you thought of the theme as time-appropriate. We have enough problems in this world already and wars just make that way worse. Let’s hope the war-stricken countries can find unity and put an end to all wars around us.

3. ravirajan01 profile image95
    ravirajan01posted 9 months ago