Do I belong or am I a misfit here on Hubpages?

Jump to Last Post 1-39 of 39 discussions (83 posts)
  1. profile image0
    Luanne16posted 14 years ago

I'm really new. I was a teacher for 14 years, was laid off in June and I started journaling to relieve some stress. I have always loved to write, and I got this crazy idea that I should join hubpages to learn from other great writers.
    I don't care about earning, if it were to happen great, but the real reason I'm here is to see if I can raise the bar for myself and become better.
    I've been emailing some hubwriters who I am in awe with, and have sent emails, asking them to mentor me. Then I saw this forum, and thought maybe someone out there would take pity on me, and pull me out of the sinking ship.

I'm a little scared about what people will say. I want to earn respect for my writing, and I know part of the process is getting feedback from other writers who are way more talented and smarter than  me.

If you wouldn't mind, would you let me know if my style fits in here? Do I belong? Will people like reading what I write?

Then, maybe give me some tips , suggestions on how to improve as a writer. (I know I need to drive trafic, but could your feedback be more on the mechanics of my writing, style, tone, skill or lack there of)
    Wow, I'm long winded....but I guess that tells you more than anything I want to belong here. If my dream comes true, someday I'll publish a book (but tell me I'm crazy if you don't agree--I need a friend to steer me in the right direction or path I'm supposed to follow)
    Thanks if you read this far (sure most of you clicked away paragraphs ago, so you are a loyal new friend)
    Hope I hear from you,
    Luanne

1. SandyMcCollum profile image64
      SandyMcCollumposted 14 years agoin reply to this

Hi Luanne, and welcome!